Engage Aotearoa

Tag Archives: Meeting

Update on Cuts to Community Law Centres

Less than two weeks to go!

The Ministry of Justice has said that it will stop consulting with Community Law Centres by 1 August.  That makes the next two weeks a really important time to explain to the Ministry exactly why we need direct specialist legal services.

Here’s what you can do to help:

Come to the “Save Disability Law” public meeting

  • 1pm – 3pm on Monday 30th July 2012
  • Western Springs Community Garden Hall, 956 Great North Road

RSVP by phone 09 257 5140 or email info@adl.org.nz

Venue is wheelchair accessible and NZ Sign Language interpreters have been booked.  Please tell us if you have any other access or dietary requirements.

Please tell your whanau, friends and workmates to come along too.

Check out the media coverage

It’s not too late to sign the open letter to Justice Minister Judith Collins

How to sign:

Email your name to info@adl.org.nz and they will add you as an email signatory to our list.  If your organisation has not yet signed, ask them to support ADL.

If you are signing on behalf of an organisation, please include your logo.

Post it to Auckland Disability Law, PO Box 43 201, Mangere, Auckland

Fax it back to ADL on 09 275 4693 or scan it and email to info@adl.org.nz

Finally, you can print it out and post it directly to Minister of Justice, Judith Collins http://www.beehive.govt.nz/minister/judith-collins

What else you can do

You can write your own letter to Minister of Justice Judith Collins or to the Minister for Disability Issues, Hon Tariana Turia.

Lobby your local MP, Councillor or Local Board


Write to the newspapers, or put out your own press release

Contact ADL for further information

Follow on Facebook

Search and click the ‘like’ button on the Auckland Disability Law Facebook page

Huge thanks to the more than one hundred individuals and all these groups and organisations that have signed so far:

  • Altus Enterprises
  • Auckland Action Against Poverty
  • Auckland Branch of the Association of Blind Citizens of New Zealand
  • Auckland Disability Providers network
  • CCS Disability Action
  • Chair, Homeworks Trust
  • Citizens Against Privatisation
  • Community Law Canterbury
  • DPA Dunedin
  • DSAG Disability Strategic Advisory Group – Auckland Council
  • Employment Dispute Solutions
  • Engage Aotearoa
  • Green Party of New Zealand
  • Justice Action Group
  • Kaitaia Community House
  • Mana Tangata Turi O Aotearoa
  • Mangere Community Law Centre
  • National Secretary behal of New Zealand Public Serrvices Association
  • Niu Ola Trust
  • People First
  • PHAB Pasifika
  • PSA Deaf and Disabled Members
  • Pukenga Consultancy
  • Rotorua District Community Law Centre
  • Service and Food Workers Union
  • Socialist Aotearoa
  • Tamaki Ngati Kapo inc
  • Taranaki Community Law
  • Te Roopu Waiora Trust
  • The Asian Network Inc.
  • The Auckland Deaf Christian Fellowship
  • Unite Union
  • Youthlaw

Previous media coverage:


Further Information

If you require any further information or you are able to help the campaign in any way, please contact us:

Nicola Owen

Development Manager

Auckland Disability Law


AGM for RCNet + Call for Board Members



Notice is hereby given that the Annual General Meeting of COUNCIL FOR MENTAL WELL-BEING TRUST will be held at

  • YMCA, 773 New North Road, Mt Albert 1025, Behind the War Memorial Hall near Rocket Park.
  • THURSDAY 26 APRIL 2012 from 4.30PM

Guest Speaker – Carol Abernethy, Praxis Group

There will be a light afternoon tea served afterwards

Call for expression of interest for membership on the COUNCIL FOR MENTAL WELL-BEING TRUST Board of Trustees

Those interested in serving on the Council for Mental Well-Being Trust
and contributing to a worthwhile community organisation, please send
a (1 page) summary of credentials and skills, and a paragraph stating
reasons why they want to be a Board member and what they bring to
the table.

Final date for receiving nominations: Friday 13 April 2012

All welcome

Contact: Dr Dean Manley (Chairperson), C/- manager@rcnet.co.nz,  (09) 623 1762 (leave message)

Board Election Process

If you intend to stand for Chairperson (1), Secretary (1) + Deputy Chairperson (1), Treasurer (1) or a Board Member (7-9) please send through a current Curriculum Vitae and a 250 word synopsis why you believe you would be the best candidate to be on the Board in the position that you seek. You must be registered as a member of the Auckland Regional Consumer Network.

If you intend to vote, please ensure that you have registered as a Member of the Regional Consumer Network with our new form. Please note that this asks you to voluntarily list your National Health Index (NHI) number for our compliance issues with the Ministry of Health’s PRIMHD reporting function.

For catering, election and voting purposes, please RSVP and send your information to the Acting Manager/ Manager by Friday 13 April.

We currently have 7 Board members on the CMWB Trust Board: Alastair Anderson (Treasurer), Katie Hodgson (Secretary), Malcolm Dixon, Lina Samu, Carolyn Swanson (Deputy Chair), Miriam Larsen-Barr and myself as Chairperson.

To help you to be able to make an informed decision about what is needed in the governance board role; we currently meet every third Tuesday of every month in a voluntary capacity. We are on average spending the following time in the board member role:

Board Member (7-9 members) – attends monthly meetings (2-3 hours a month + 3 hours reading of papers), and communicates over emails and by phone if needed (5-10 hours a month)